Sometimes the good stuff comes at the end

Today was a bad day.  If I had to guess it was the combination of an overwhelming workload and PMS.  PMS on a Saturday I can handle.  An overwhelming workload on a day that my hormones aren’t all out whack from recently growing a human I can handle.  PMS on a Tuesday at 10 AM when I realize I’ve missed another deadline and look at the next three months of planning where enough work exists for four of me?  Not so good. 

It was a day that 18 months ago would have been rewarded with a cold beer and fried cheese.  And for a moment, just a moment, I found myself missing the ease of having a bad day and wallowing in it.  Coming home and soaking in a hot bath with a glass of wine and a good cry. Or bitching to a co-worker at happy hour.  Or running to the mall and buying new shoes. 

Then, I came home to this face. 

Bundled up in the car seat for the 100-yard ride from Nauni's house to ours. What? It was cold out.

And we giggled.  I clapped while she practiced rolling.  I put her down on one side of the floor and picked her up when she rolled to the other.  She ate carrots and yelled when I didn’t get them in her mouth fast enough.  We gave her a bath and I laughed as she splashed me.  I took pictures, calling her name and making funny noises to try to capture her smile. 

And when I rocked her to sleep and felt her head heavy on my shoulder and the rhythm of her breath on my neck, I found myself wondering why my day was so bad.

5 Responses

  1. Aw…I could totally tell your day got better as your wrote that post and shared all the sweet things about your night. What a doll she is:)

  2. That was beautiful. And so is she.

  3. Aww loved your post. Don’t you feel sometimes like this is exactly what God put you on earth for – to be a mother. This is what life is all about. Soak up all these precious moments because as she grows some of these times you won’t get back – but you’ll always have the memories and you’ll always be a mother! Maybe you should record her giggles and squeals and coos and then shut your office door and close your eyes and listen to the sounds of happiness when the stress starts beating you up!!

  4. We have a picture of Ryann that looks exactly like that one of C. And bath splashes and rolling and baby smiles make it all better… If only that would make my plague go away. So glad you had a better night.

  5. My kids always make my day better too 🙂

Leave a Reply

